Sign In | Sign Up

Easy Ordering

  • Line Holder
  • Line Holder
  • Line Holder
Line Holder
The tenkara line holder is a simple plastic spool with a core of yellow foam used to trap the line.

$9.95

TENKARA CARE™
Our Guarantee

Should your tenkara rod break, or if you have any problems, please contact us and we'll take care of you!

888.483.6527

info@tenkarausa.com

We want your rod to be back in working order as quickly as possible so you can continue spreading the word about tenkara and Tenkara USA.
Most of the time you will not have to mail anything back to us. Learn more about our guarantee
The tenkara line holder is a simple plastic spool with a core of yellow foam used to trap the line.

Does not include line.
1% of the sale value of this item will be donated to conservation efforts.
Write a review of this product.

Reviews

page 1 of 2« previous pagenext page »

sort by: date (oldest first) rating (high ratings first)

  • trvsmcdowell says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Must have for Tenkara
  • Simply a must have. I keep one for each rod, and a couple for Level lines as well. Simple, light and inexpensive.
  • posted May 11, 2012
  • pfabian53 says     3 out of 5 flies
  • A good solution for now but more can be done
  • Location/type of places I fish: medium sized streams and pocket water
  • This line-holder definitely does its job. Lines do not fly all over the place while walking and if you pay attention to keep the wraps alternating behind the yellow foam section, the line does not unravel. However, I think the simplicity of the system lowers the functionality in this context. The fact that the line has to be hand-wound around an object that itself can spin (in that it is circular makes this a bit of a difficult task. A simple solution might be to keep the circular yellow foam on the inside but to change the blue plastic to a square or at least a version where gripping is easier due to corners. This way the line would still not develop kinks by being smoothly rolled on, but the user would have an easier time holding on to the holder with wet or cold/gloved hands.

    In addition, the slots meant for flies are not always the most functional. I usually fish a double nymph rig with a size 8-10 stonefly nymph above a smaller #12-16 dropper fly and the dropper stays in the slot very well but the larger fly tends to get torqued out as the wrapping continues. Perhaps making the slots a little deeper (i.e. extending the plastic towards the center of the holder, not towards the foam) would help accommodate anglers using larger flies who still want their rig to stay snugged up to the wheel while they are walking.

    Overall a functional product but I think more development would make something that is greatly improved and would make life easier.
  • posted May 09, 2012
  • justin says     5 out of 5 flies
  • simple and effective
  • Location/type of places I fish: UK rivers and streams
  • I have tried various ways of stowing line both when attached to the rod and when separate. After a recent week long trek to some remote fishing spots I now think these spools are the best solution.
    I gave my fishing partner one of these spools and I used another method to coil my line. Setting up was the same speed for both of us but he had fewer tangles due to the wound line getting caught and coming undone.
    It also has the advantage of leaving the rod completely uncluttered when fishing.
  • posted May 09, 2012
  • kkortemeier says     5 out of 5 flies
  • You have to have one (or more) of these
  • Location/type of places I fish: North Ga., Trout, Bass, Bream
  • If you are going to buy a rod and line for Tenkara, you have to have these line holders. I bought two, but I wish I had bought more. I thought I could use tippet holders. They are just not the same. These line holders allow you to set up a couple of lines, with flies, for the days fishing. When you are on the water, you can slip the whole thing over your rod as you walk to the water. Ingenious design.
  • posted May 08, 2012
  • jd_smith says     4 out of 5 flies
  • Simple to use
  • Location/type of places I fish: Northern and Central California, Southern Oregon, Sierra Nevada, or where ever I end up next to water.
  • Over time I've found that these line spools really are the best way to store my line both on and off of the water. When I started tenkara fishing in 2010 I had ordered a rod, both style of lines, some flies, and of course a line holder. I used the line holder (spool) for the rest of 2010. I later realized that there was another option for on the water line management. I'm not going to mention it by name, we all have probably seen them by now. I eventually became frustrated with that system because it puts bends and kinks into my level lines. I realized I wasn't saving any time using them because every time I wanted to fish I had to take extra time to stretch my line to get out the bends. So I switched back to the spools. The spools work better, are faster and when I'm done for the day my lines are already on the spool and ready for storage. I'm giving 4 out of 5 flies because I would like them better if they snapped together like tippet spools.
  • posted May 08, 2012
  • camelcarlson says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Exactly what you need for line storage
  • Location/type of places I fish: montana, medium to larged sized streams and alpine lakes
  • This system makes it so easy to move around the river by wrapping up the line and attaching it to the rod. It also allows to pre rig numerous setups before you hit the water, making changing a line or fly for that matter a piece of cake that takes no time at all.
  • posted May 07, 2012
  • apluda says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Must have
  • Location/type of places I fish: Wyoming
  • I have a few of these which are great for storing a few lines that are pre-rigged and might even have a fly on them already. Wonderful for walking or moving on the go while fishing and great because they float.
  • posted May 06, 2012
  • sbrown77 says     5 out of 5 flies
  • It works
  • simple, it works, necessary for anyone who wants an easy solution for line storage.
  • posted May 04, 2012
  • dorian.ducker says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Good solution to a problem
  • Location/type of places I fish: Small-medium rivers and streams
  • I was trying to rig up some crazy way to wrap the line around the length of my rod handle and then saw this neat solution. It's simple, and it just works. A must have accessory.
  • posted May 02, 2012
  • Thomis says     3 out of 5 flies
  • It works
  • Location/type of places I fish: Wisconsin- rivers for trout
  • With the simple nature of Tenkara fishing, a line holder is an important piece of equipment to protect your line when not in use and when moving over land. This line holder does as advertised, but I wish for more out of my line holder.
    I have seen other Japanese line holders that have a foam middle that fit snug on your rod and little hooks that flies can attach too. I hope Tenkara USA uses some of these innovations in their next line holder.
  • posted April 30, 2012

page 1 of 2« previous pagenext page »