Sign In | Sign Up

Easy Ordering

  • ITO™<br> 13ft - 14ft7in (390-450cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • ITO™<br> 13ft - 14ft7in (390-450cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • ITO™<br> 13ft - 14ft7in (390-450cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • ITO™<br> 13ft - 14ft7in (390-450cm)<br> Includes CASE
ITO™
13ft - 14ft7in (390-450cm)
Includes CASE
The Ito is the longest rod in our lineup. We strived to achieve a very long rod, with the lightest possible feel. A true delight to fish any mountain stream, the Ito will be most at home in wider streams, larger rivers and ponds. It is the main rod we like to recommend for those who fish more open streams. The Ito feels incredibly light at 13ft, as the balance is brought closer to the handle, and still very light at 14ft7in.

$245.00

TENKARA CARE™
Our Guarantee

Should your tenkara rod break, or if you have any problems, please contact us and we'll take care of you!

888.483.6527

info@tenkarausa.com

We want your rod to be back in working order as quickly as possible so you can continue spreading the word about tenkara and Tenkara USA.
Most of the time you will not have to mail anything back to us. Learn more about our guarantee
The Ito is the longest rod in our lineup. We strived to achieve a very long rod, with the lightest possible feel. A true delight to fish any mountain stream, the Ito will be most at home in wider streams, larger rivers and ponds. It is the main rod we like to recommend for those who fish more open streams. The Ito feels incredibly light at 13ft, as the balance is brought closer to the handle, and still very light at 14ft7in.

Listen to a podcast episode on what makes the Ito the favorite rod of many experienced tenkara anglers:


Special Features: The Ito features an innovative "zoom" function, which allows the angler to lock one segment in place to fish the rod either at 13ft (390cm) length or, fully extended, at 14ft7in (450cm). The zoom locks both at the butt of the rod with a proprietary cap, and at the end of the handle segment. Having a rod that can be instantly extended an extra 2ft is a true asset in any mountain stream, even some of the smaller streams. A killer combination with a very long line in a large stream, or with a shorter line in a small stream. This is by far the most versatile rod we offer.
We used the highest possible quality cork for the handle and only the finest components to make this our premium rod. The finish is also superb, being a matte black with a gradient dark blue block at the end of each segment.

*rod lengths may vary slightly from indicated due to the telescopic nature of the rods
Specs:
Length: 13ft - 14ft7in
Finish: Matte Black with dark blue sections
Segments: 9 (can be fished as 8)
Closed length: 25.8inches (65.53cm)
Handle length: 12inches (30.48cm)
Weight: 4.1oz (116g) - Made in China

 1% of the sale value of this item will be donated to conservation efforts.
Write a review of this product.

Reviews

page 1 of 2« previous pagenext page »

sort by: date (oldest first) rating (high ratings first)

  • LarryTullis says     5 out of 5 flies
  • My favorite of 6 tenkara rods
  • Location/type of places I fish: Medium small to large rivers and ponds.
  • The Ito is great for big fish and nymphing larger streams. I often fish for bigger trout than the traditional tenkara mountain stream trout and it is a fact that longer tenkara rods can land bigger fish. I have caught trout to 26 inches on it and even medium sockeye salmon. I like that it can shrink down when being used on smaller waters or by a gal or a kid. I use the full length mostly so I can cover more water and get longer drifts with nymphs or dry flies. It's great from a drift boat too because you can keep the line well out away from the oars. Great float tube rod in lakes! Don't be intimidated by its length, just think of it as cane pole fly fishing, which is how it was done for hundreds of years before fly reels were invented (originally with braided horse hair lines and leaders).
  • posted November 18, 2016
  • mscarpena says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Nice rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Western NY and Adarondaik Mountains
  • Since I just bought this rod I have not used it yet, but I love my 12 footer. I have fished a few times and had a couple nice ones jump just out of my fishing range well NOT ANYMORE. I love how easy it is to switch from 13' to the 14'7". I figured it would be some tricky cam locking system, but nope, just pull it out or push it in. I got a great price on it and I can not wait to use it. I am going to Idaho in a few weeks and you can bet this will be something I bring. The rod seems very well built and I have heard nothing,but great things from Tenkara USA. I love the furled lines they make.
  • posted December 13, 2013
  • Andy_Lamberson says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Perfect for those long casts
  • Location/type of places I fish: Driftless area trout streams in Minnesota and WI
  • This has been the rod I've been looking for! I have an 12' Iwanna...which I love...but sometimes the trout are just rising just a little bit to far away!

    The extra length of this rod...plus the longer line you can cast amounts to an increase of at least 4 feet.

    The rod does balance best at 13', with a nice crisp action, but when you need the extra length to reach that other bank or to land the fish the rod quickly adjusts to 14' 7" which is a really...really...nice feature.

    So far I've landed Brown Trout up to 16" on this rod with no issues. It's perfect for those 10-14"ers that are most common on our streams.

    I've been doing a lot of winter nymph fishing with this rod and I give it a solid A+.
  • posted March 09, 2013
  • justin says     5 out of 5 flies
  • soft long and versatile
  • Location/type of places I fish: UK, all types of river
  • The telescopic ability of the ITO means that when on the river it's possible to achieve levels of presentation that would be difficult with a fixed length rod. When backpacking I find this function even more useful as I'm not wearing waders. The collapsed length may be a bit longer and there are lighter rods but the benefits of the ITO far outweigh these negatives.
    My tests have shown that with 2.2lb tippet (varivas fluoro carbon) the ITO is right on its limit. It will snap this line but I would not want to put any more force through the rod. For me this is a great balance.

  • posted May 09, 2012
  • bwwillis says     5 out of 5 flies
  • The ITO is my new goto Tenkara rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Rappahanock and Rapidan Rivers
  • Definitely my new favorite. The ability to extend to 14' 7" is a bonus I haven't taken advantage of yet. As I try longer line lengths I am sure it will be the bomb.
  • posted May 08, 2012
  • dblauch says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Great all around rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: The freestone mountain streams and spring creeks of Pennsylvania
  • The Ito is an awesome fishing tool. The ability to fish the rod at both 13ft and also 14 1/2ft makes the rod so versatile. When fished at the longest length, the Ito feels slightly stiff but gives me all the backbone I need to land larger fish. At 13ft, the Ito has a much softer action than my 11ft Iwana and makes it a lot of fun to catch the smaller trout that I often find in smaller mountain streams. I had initially thought that the Ito being 13ft. long would be too long to use in smaller bushier streams with a lot of cover over head. I could not have been more wrong. It is amazing to see that with some skill I can still use this rod in extremely tight quarters. As far as lines go, I prefer either the 13ft long traditional furled line or the heavier size 4.5 level line. I found that with a little practice I could cast around a 20ft. level line with the Ito. This offers so many possibilities for rod to be used on larger rivers and streams where I might have never thought to try using a Tenkara rod. Overall I would highly recommend this rod and also add that carrying both the 11ft Iwana and the Ito allow me to adapt and fish most any of the water I come across.
  • posted May 05, 2012
  • jd_smith says     4 out of 5 flies
  • innovative, well balanced and a pure joy to fish
  • Location/type of places I fish: Northern and Central California, Southern Oregon, Sierra Nevada, or where ever I end up next to water.
  • The Ito is a true joy to fish. It's actually two rods in one. At 13' it's a crisp, precise and well balanced rod, able to fit into most fishing situations and cover that I encounter in Northern CA and the Sierra Nevada. At 14' 7" the rod loads deeper into the blank and is able cast and fish a longer line more effectively, thus opening up new, more distant locations on a piece of water. It will reach any spot that I can reasonably fish with a tenkara rod. The telescoping zoom feature that enables you to switch rod lengths is second to none in the industry. The rod locks proper and is secure. I am giving it 4 flies simply because my preference is a slightly faster rod, and tend to be that guy that thinks there's always room for a little tweaking.
  • posted May 05, 2012
  • dfree98 says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Amazing fly rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Small eastern mountain streams with wild brookies.
  • WOW! This rod is like nothuiing ov ever fished before. The action is so soft and sensitive i can make more chalengine casts then before. I have been catching more fish ever since i purcghesede this rod and use nit on small streams ever where. I had one complaint it would be the the rod is VERY delicite and i have a contint fear of breakinjg it. Overall a great rod for changing things up and catching more fish!
  • posted May 03, 2012
  • tvdavis says     5 out of 5 flies
  • The "can-do" tenkara rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Rocky Mountain west
  • If one was looking for a tenkara rod that would answer in almost any fishing condition, then the Tenkara USA Ito would be that rod. Built with the tenkara fisherman in mind, this rod works well on small streams, larger rivers, ponds and lakes. From trout and grayling to bass and panfish, this is the "can-do" rod.

    The Ito has the built in ability to go from a 13' 6:4 moderately-fast casting rod to a 14'7" 5:5 slow casting rod in seconds. This is accomplished by its unique "zoom" feature. By grasping the lowest section of the rod and extending it outwards the rod transforms itself, in seconds, from one rod into another. Whether you use this feature for extra reach in placing your fly into that difficult pocket, or as an aid in bring for catch to hand, this feature makes the Ito the "must have" Tenkara USA rod.

    Fit and finish of the Ito are Tenkara USA perfect. This rod's cantilever balance makes casting an effortless "flick of the wrist" when in the 13' mode, but a slower more deliberate stroke is required when fully extended.

    If you are looking for a highly versatile, high quality tenkara rod then consider the Tenkara USA Ito. I love using this rod; I believe you will too. Highly Recommended!!!
  • posted May 03, 2012
  • Steveo20002 says     5 out of 5 flies
  • awesome rod! My1st tenkara rod. Still learning, but easy to cast even the 1st time out
  • Location/type of places I fish: Shenandoah Valley Area, Virginia and Western Maryland Streams
  • Tested out my Ito fly rod this past week. So easy to get great drag free drifts for dry flies and also nymphs! The extra length was great for the larger wider pools I fished

    I live on the east coast so most trout water is stocked with a few streams holding carryover fish. Rod did great with smaller browns 8 to 10 inches and the larger 12-13 inch stocked rainbows. I can't wait to try it out this summer on the North Fork of the Shenadoah River with small poppers and crystal buggers for smallmouth.



  • posted May 03, 2012

page 1 of 2« previous pagenext page »