Sign In | Sign Up

Easy Ordering

  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
IWANA™
12ft (360cm)
Includes CASE
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

$170.00

TENKARA CARE™
Our Guarantee

Should your tenkara rod break, or if you have any problems, please contact us and we'll take care of you!

888.483.6527

info@tenkarausa.com

We want your rod to be back in working order as quickly as possible so you can continue spreading the word about tenkara and Tenkara USA.
Most of the time you will not have to mail anything back to us. Learn more about our guarantee
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

These rods have a beautiful "glossy carbon" finish, where you can see the high-quality carbon fiber material through a nice glossy finish.

12ft (360cm) rod specs
NOTE: Due to the telescopic nature of the rods, and the fact that we rounded the numbers to have a clean metric-to-English conversion, rod lengths may vary slightly from indicated.
Closed size: 20 1/2 inches (52cm) including 1/2" cap
Segments: 9
Handle length: 11 inches (23cm)
Weight:2.7oz (76.5grams)

Made in China with Japanese materials

 1% of the sale value of this item will be donated to conservation efforts.
Write a review of this product.

Reviews

page 2 of 5« previous pagenext page »

sort by: date (most recent first) rating (low ratings first)

  • haphill says     5 out of 5 flies
  • First Tenkara rod and I love it!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Trout fishing and pan fishing
  • Just took my 12' Iwana out for the first time and I couldn't be more pleased! I only had the afternoon to squeeze in and I went to a local pond. Set up was easy (with the help of the videos) and I was on the water in no time. Casting was easy and extremely accurate. I'll need to be a little more careful with what's behind me as I snagged a tree twice. It's a long pole! I caught about a dozen smallies and pan fish before dark. I can't wait to take it to the river!
  • posted September 21, 2015
  • horabe says     5 out of 5 flies
  • An all around rod to introduce a western fly fisher to tenkara fly fishing.
  • Location/type of places I fish: Upstate New York
  • I have been a western fly fisher for over 20 years and I have to say this rod made it easy for me to cross over to tenkara fly fishing. I have used both traditional and level lines with this rod and had no problem fly casting. In some ways it feels like casting a western rod especially when using a tradition line. I feel comfortable casting either a size 18 dry or a size 8 streamer and was able to land a 15" SM with a 5x tippet. Also when you hook on to fish with this rod you may never want to return to using your western fly rod again on a stream.
  • posted April 28, 2012
  • goneflyfishing says     5 out of 5 flies
  • The "do-it-all" tenkara rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Creeks and smaller rivers, ponds
  • The 12ft Iwana was my first tenkara rod that "sold" me to this tenkara fishing. Well balanced, light and versatile is what comes first to mind. This is my go-to rod for most water for which I don't need a specialized rod like the Amago for bigger water/fish or the Ito for increased reach.
  • posted April 28, 2012
  • jjwynne says     5 out of 5 flies
  • My go to tenkara rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Large rivers to small creeks
  • The Iwana rod is the rod I have used most in the last 2 years. It can cast a very light line 3# and also a heavier level line 4.5# which is better in the wind. After a long day of fishing you will also appreciate how light it is. If I had to select one Tenkara rod for a trip this would be the one.
  • posted April 28, 2012
  • TimBarry says     5 out of 5 flies
  • East Coast Gem
  • Location/type of places I fish: New England
  • The Iwana is a great tool when operating in the tight settings I love here in New England. Delivering juicy flies on small streams is a breeze and regardless of the extra length, control isn't an issue. Packability for backpacking is a true bonus.
  • posted April 28, 2012
  • Simon.A.Hayes says     5 out of 5 flies
  • A light strong rod capable of catching and landing big fish.
  • Location/type of places I fish: North Wales uk rivers
  • We now own two of these rods my wife has a Yamame but after using my rod decided that the Iwana was the correct rod for her as well due to its light weight. Giving her the ability to fish all day without becoming tired.
  • posted April 29, 2012
  • bsw330 says     5 out of 5 flies
  • couldn't be happier with this rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: East TN mountain streams
  • The 12' Iwana is my first foray into the world of Tenkara, and it has quickly become my favorite way to fly fish. Very pleased with the quality, fit and finish of this rod - extrememly packable, easy setup, breaks down quickly for bushwhacking, and though I haven't used it long, seems durable and well-made. The Iwana is easy to cast, light in hand and sensitive, making the transition from a western fly rod easy for beginners. Crisp and accurate. My 4wt is suffering from neglect as I can not get past the long, beautiful controlled drifts without the need for constant mending. The Iwana is a great all-around tool for working pocket water with precision. Highly recommended for thos just starting out in flyfishing.
  • posted April 30, 2012
  • Mike Sevon says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Sweetest action of them all
  • Location/type of places I fish: Eastern Sierra streams and beaverponds
  • My fishing partner Tillie and I picked this rod after handling all the Tenkara rods at the Pleasanton Fly Fishing show Tenkara booth. For all around fishing for trout in the 8-16 inch class, we feel this rod has the sweetest action. It is light in the hand and present the flies with extreme accuracy. After ordering the Amago and finding its niche for big fish, I am going to have to order another Iwana, so we will both have one to use when we can get into our favorite golden trout water. I have also been impressed in the speed of deliver of all products we have ordered on line. I am getting delivery in three days from the time I order.
  • posted May 01, 2012
  • vkusaomarkos says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Fantastic!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Rivers and lakes of Michigan
  • The Iwana rod is the first I've purchased from Tenkara USA (almost 2 years ago). It performs incredibly, very well made and a lot of fun. Locally, since all the trout rivers are further north from me, I use it to catch small mouth bass and panfish. It holds up to the larger fish as well as being light enough for panfishing. Bottom line, I now have 4 Tenkara USA rods and couldn't be happier. Discovering Tenkara, for me, is my favorite new pastime and I haven't picked up my other rods since.
  • posted May 02, 2012
  • Evjoy says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Great Backpacking Rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Alberta Rocky Mountain Streams/Lakes
  • I bought one of these rods about a year ago after looking around for a small portable rod for backpacking. After using it for a year it has become my favorite rod. I always throw it into my pack along with a few other small pieces of equipment and I've got a very capable setup for the small mountain streams and lakes. Excellent quality and design!
  • posted May 03, 2012

page 2 of 5« previous pagenext page »