Sign In | Sign Up

Easy Ordering

  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
IWANA™
12ft (360cm)
Includes CASE
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

$170.00

TENKARA CARE™
Our Guarantee

Should your tenkara rod break, or if you have any problems, please contact us and we'll take care of you!

888.483.6527

info@tenkarausa.com

We want your rod to be back in working order as quickly as possible so you can continue spreading the word about tenkara and Tenkara USA.
Most of the time you will not have to mail anything back to us. Learn more about our guarantee
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

These rods have a beautiful "glossy carbon" finish, where you can see the high-quality carbon fiber material through a nice glossy finish.

12ft (360cm) rod specs
NOTE: Due to the telescopic nature of the rods, and the fact that we rounded the numbers to have a clean metric-to-English conversion, rod lengths may vary slightly from indicated.
Closed size: 20 1/2 inches (52cm) including 1/2" cap
Segments: 9
Handle length: 11 inches (23cm)
Weight:2.7oz (76.5grams)

Made in China with Japanese materials

 1% of the sale value of this item will be donated to conservation efforts.
Write a review of this product.

Reviews

page 2 of 5« previous pagenext page »

sort by: date (oldest first) rating (high ratings first)

  • kumaoakland says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Me and the trout are ONE!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Small streams in NorCal/Navajo Nation in Arizona
  • posted May 11, 2012
  • Lisa-n-Brian says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Fantastic
  • Location/type of places I fish: Mountain streams -WA Staye
  • This rod gives and all around nice feel, cast, and it is a nice length for smaller streams My wife and I both have one and both love them. We use to western fly fish but not anymore. We sold our other gear and opted for Tenkara only. Best move we ever made, we catch more fish in a day then we use to catch in a month previously.
    Thanks Daniel for introducing Tenkara in the USA!
  • posted May 11, 2012
  • TenkaraMTUSA says     4 out of 5 flies
  • Good all around rod.
  • Location/type of places I fish: Montana---Brown trout and Rainbows.
  • I would consider this to be a diverse rod. It is my first tenkara rod and I have used it to catch small trout and sunfish to large (21" plus) brown trout on Montana's Bighorn river. However, for my next rod I think that I would like the action from a 5:5 rod instead of a 6:4 rod. My son has a 5:5 rod and even the smallest fish seems very large on that rod----that being said I would not want to use a 5:5 rod for larger trout that I know the Iwana can handle. You really almost need two or more rods depending on the water you're fishing. I am confident to test my rod on almost any river in Montana though for the smaller streams that usually hold smaller fish I find the Iwana a little too stiff. Glad I got the rod but in need of a second rod of like size but lighter action.
  • posted May 10, 2012
  • mossy says     5 out of 5 flies
  • 12' Iwana
  • Location/type of places I fish: Colorado/Rocky Mountain
  • The 12' Iwana is the "one size fits all" of the Tenkara USA line - and it is quite a fit! It can delicately present the smallest dry fly, or throw a hopper with a weighted dropper, or swing a kebari through the tail of a pool, all the while being the lightest rod you've ever handled! Think of it as the 5-weight of tenkara rods.
  • posted May 09, 2012
  • CuriousLayman says     4 out of 5 flies
  • Great all-around rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: GSMNP
  • This rod may be the rod to have if you are going to only have one. It is a really nice rod that does everything pretty well. However, if you are going to own several, it wouldn't be the first I'd get for western north carolina (unless you are going to get the 11' handle, then it may be my first.) The 11' is better for tighter spots and it is more fun with smaller fish. The Ito is perfect where you have more room. The 12' Iwana is a bit better at throwing slightly heavier flies. But generally if I have room for the the 12', the 13' isn't much of a problem. I own both Iwanas and the Ito and I love them all. You won't go wrong. But having all 3 I'd have to say that if I was forced to give one up it would be the 12'.
  • posted May 09, 2012
  • wnc_adventurer says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Tenkara USA's "All Water" Rod - Iwana 12'
  • Location/type of places I fish: Western NC mountain streams, Little Tennessee River, small lakes, etc
  • I haven't found a stream, river or lake in my area of Western North Carolina that this rod cannot make you a master fly fisherman! Coming from the traditional Western fly fishing world in my earlier years to now being introduced to Tenkara, specifically Tenkara USA, my fly fishing time and budget, have been simplified! With the Iwana's 6:4 action, your ability to easily set the hook on the smallest nibbles of brookies, to the aggressive strikes of small mouth bass are unmatched! With the extra 1' from it's younger brother Iwana 11', the ability to keep your line off the water and master a smooth drift is just phenomenal. I was somewhat skeptical of the durability of a telescoping rod from my first introduction. However, that worry has since flowed downstream after holding and using my first Tenkara USA rod and seeing for myself the industry-leading pioneer of Tenkara style fly fishing from Tenkara USA. Although the Iwana 12' is my choice for an "All Water" rod, my plans to purchase others for more specific waters I have in mind are in my sights. Once you go Tenkara, you'll never go back!
  • posted May 09, 2012
  • padty says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Great rod to get you hooked on Tenkara
  • Location/type of places I fish: New England
  • After twenty years of Western fly fishing, I had burned out on short-notice, quick outings because of the gear intensive production it always entailed. Since purchasing my Iwana, I can literally be casting to trout seconds after arriving on the river. I recommend the shorter rod (and I will soon by the shorter rod handle to bring my 12' down to 11') if you fish small streams with a lot of cover. I'm happy I have the 12' though, as I do often fish rivers and get into larger trout, it's just not the norm. The quality is outstanding and the brand, packaging, et al. make it obvious that these guys care about what they do and sell. Oh, and you'll catch more fish, too.
  • posted May 09, 2012
  • kkortemeier says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Amazing, more than I expected
  • Location/type of places I fish: North Ga., Trout, Bass, Bream
  • This is my first Tenkara rod. I have fly fished for many years. I owned a fly fishing store. I have guided in Alaska and the Bahamas. I also taught fly fishing classes at UGA. I say this to let folks know that I have handled a lot of rods. For the price, the quality, the presentation, these rods cannot be beat. I have only been able to fish 3 times with the rod, but it is a joy to cast. My wife is not a flyfisher, but she picked it up within minutues. You can't go wrong with this rod.
  • posted May 08, 2012
  • bigfish says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Are pan fish impure in Tenkara ?
  • Location/type of places I fish: Northern Minnesota small lakes and brushy streams
  • Last summer, while in Grand Marais, Minnesota, my wife showed me the Tenkara display at Stone Harbor Wilderness Outfitters. Because my head was elsewhere and preoccupied, I only gave it a passing glance (but she knows me too well). So six months later and I am back on the North Shore of Lake Superior, and I stop into Stone Harbor to look at all things Tenkara. I purchased a 12' Iwana and a traditional 10.5 ft line. I have not had opportunity to fish trout with it yet, but used the outfit for the first time while stalking pan fish from my kayak. I was able to make a very stealthy presentation to these prespawn spooky fish. The Iwana handled both the bull bluegills and 12" crappies as well or better than my 4 wieght fly rod. I'm hooked. There's a lot of potential here. Thanks honey !
  • posted May 08, 2012
  • opusxm says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Love it!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Tule River
  • I have been a fly fisherman for 40 years. I learned years ago as a "Western Fly" fisherman, if I kept my floating line off the water, I caught more fish. Then I discovered Tenkara.

    I received my Iwana this week, and have been practicing. Took me a few minutes, to figure it out and get my fly and line laying down, but once I got the timing down, it was heaven. I can't get over how easy it is to keep the main line off the water.

    Rod set up and break down is so easy. I can't wait to get this up on the Tule and Kaweah rivers, once they get the roads open...
  • posted May 07, 2012

page 2 of 5« previous pagenext page »