Sign In | Sign Up

Easy Ordering

  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
IWANA™
12ft (360cm)
Includes CASE
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

$157.00

TENKARA CARE™
Our Guarantee

Should your tenkara rod break, or if you have any problems, please contact us and we'll take care of you!

888.483.6527

info@tenkarausa.com

We want your rod to be back in working order as quickly as possible so you can continue spreading the word about tenkara and Tenkara USA.
Most of the time you will not have to mail anything back to us. Learn more about our guarantee
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

These rods have a beautiful "glossy carbon" finish, where you can see the high-quality carbon fiber material through a nice glossy finish.

12ft (360cm) rod specs
NOTE: Due to the telescopic nature of the rods, and the fact that we rounded the numbers to have a clean metric-to-English conversion, rod lengths may vary slightly from indicated.
Closed size: 20 1/2 inches (52cm) including 1/2" cap
Segments: 9
Handle length: 11 inches (23cm)
Weight:2.7oz (76.5grams)

Made in China with Japanese materials

 1% of the sale value of this item will be donated to conservation efforts.
Write a review of this product.

Reviews

page 1 of 5« previous pagenext page »

sort by: date (oldest first) rating (high ratings first)

  • haphill says     5 out of 5 flies
  • First Tenkara rod and I love it!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Trout fishing and pan fishing
  • Just took my 12' Iwana out for the first time and I couldn't be more pleased! I only had the afternoon to squeeze in and I went to a local pond. Set up was easy (with the help of the videos) and I was on the water in no time. Casting was easy and extremely accurate. I'll need to be a little more careful with what's behind me as I snagged a tree twice. It's a long pole! I caught about a dozen smallies and pan fish before dark. I can't wait to take it to the river!
  • posted September 21, 2015
  • zwinters says     4 out of 5 flies
  • Design Flaw
  • Location/type of places I fish: Bozeman/Trout
  • Let me start by saying this is an amazing rod. I have only been fishing Tenkara for a few short months, and started with a different companies rod, but once I got this rod the superior quality was immediately evident... However, the first and only thing I notice about my rod is the design flaw in the butt cap. There is gap between the cap and the cork handle about 1/16th of an inch wide. The butt cap is also offset, so you can't feel it on one side but it sticks out on the opposite side and catches on everything. I realize that there can always be errors in the manufacturing process, but it is definitely a disappointment to have such a beautifully thought out and designed rod, with such a glaring flaw. I will most likely be purchasing a replacement handle section, in the hope that the new one will have a flush butt cap. Which is also kind of let down that now my perfect Iwana will be an extra $17 or so...

    RESPONSE FROM TENKARA USA: Thanks for understanding that manufacturing errors can occur, and I'm so sorry it has ocurred in a rod that arrived at your hand. We will be happy to replace the handle without any cost to you. Please contact us via email or phone: info@tenkarausa.com or 888.483.6527
  • posted July 10, 2015
  • JDReed says     5 out of 5 flies
  • I'm a convert
  • Location/type of places I fish: Northern Utah Mountains
  • My buddy recently let me use his 12ft Iwana and I gotta say, I'm hooked on Tenkara. This rod and this style of fishing is perfect for 90% of the streams that I fish. I'm able to cast into places successfully that I would never have even attempted with my western rod. This rod is light enough to cast all day in comfort, and being able to telescope it down when you're walking through heavily wooded areas is really really nice (I broke the tip off of my western rod doing this once). The Iwana is soft enough allow small fish to feel big, but it seems to have a back bone when you need it as I landed a 15 inch cutthroat and my buddy landed a 17 inch brown on it.

    I really can't say enough good things about it. I'd recommend this rod to any of my friends. If you routinely fish smaller technical creeks and rivers you need to get this rod.

    Tight lines,

    Jason Reed
    Logan Utah
  • posted April 14, 2013
  • 4wt says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Its got me hooked!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Ithaca, NY/small creeks
  • I must say that for the first time in many years, this is a product that comes exactly as advertised. The rod is a beautiful black and dark brown color, great for sneaking up on the fish. I set mine up with the #3.5 yellow level line sold on this site. I ran ~9' of level line and 4' of 5x tippet. Use the suggested slip knots and you will be happy with the simplicity of this style of rod vs. a traditional fly rod/reel setup. The blue plastic Tenkara line holder is a must for $9.95. I have caught one 15" rainbow trout on this rod my first time out and loved the fight. This rod allows you to really stay in tune with exactly what the fly is doing. I plan on trying this rod on small steelhead in the coming weeks in western ,NY. The customer service at Tenkara USA is unmatched and they truly will replace any sections quickly and have you back on the stream by the weekend!
  • posted February 23, 2013
  • JasonSparks says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Fantastic in Appalachia
  • Location/type of places I fish: High Country North Carolina to the Great Smoky Mountains
  • Headwaters on Grandfather Mountain. Stocked waters in open gorges. Delayed harvest areas of our great mountain streams. I have landed 6" wild brookies to 22" rainbows. I'd landed 100+ fish typically ranging in the 10" - 14". I have brought in three dozen fish at 20", both rainbows and browns. I have never lost a fish due to the rod or line. Amazingly Capable. Amazing. I just got the short handle for it and can't wait to get back out on the headwater to chase my wild ones.
  • posted February 21, 2013
  • jtimblin says     5 out of 5 flies
  • My first Tenkara Rod and still my favorite
  • Location/type of places I fish: Colorado Rocky Mountains
  • This was the first Tenkara rod I purchased and still probably my favorite. The 12 foot model is a perfect all around rod and the one I would recommend to anyone new to Tenkara fishing.
  • posted February 20, 2013
  • alansommerfeld says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Perfect for Small Colorado Creeks
  • Location/type of places I fish: Flat Tops Wilderness Area, NW Colorado
  • Backpacked in to the Flat Tops Wilderness Area to fish Derby Creek in northwest Colorado. Phenomenal day with my new Iwana 12' rod but a quick mountain thunder storm added to the excitement of the 75+ Colorado Cuts and Bookies that topped out at the 12" size. This was the perfect tool for handling the streams that were teaming with fish. I caught 5 fish for every one my son caught with his western style fly rod. When I let him try my Iwana, he loved it. And I used my newly learned Tenkara technique with his rod and did better than expected. But now he must buy his own.

  • posted July 23, 2012
  • TroutAiza says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Best of the best
  • Location/type of places I fish: Carlon Falls, Yosemite
  • Here's a lesson on trout.. they are elusive fish with iridescent colors and super good vision. Similar to toddlers, they turn their nose up to most food. They swim upstream cause the best parties are up there.. ok, I made that part up but who knows, it could be true! It is no wonder that I went into my first fly-fishing trip with a lack of confidence. Thankfully, I was armed with an Iwana rod. It's so lightweight yet so strong and flexible that I was able to get into tight spaces and drop my fly. I'm used to bigmouth bass fishing and the set up time to get up and running was surprisingly fast with the Tenkara rod. Even after all my skepticism, I managed to catch four trout. I'm hooked!
  • posted July 06, 2012
  • Fin says     5 out of 5 flies
  • My favourite "typical' trout rod but not the best all rounder IMO.
  • Location/type of places I fish: France - very variable rivers withe a mixture of heavily stocked and wild mountain streamse
  • No doubt about it, this is my, go to, rod for rivers that I know very well and contain "typical" trout, from 6" brook to 12" wild brown and beyond.

    The beauty of this rod lies in it's incredible, all day, wrist casting lightness. I would say that the action is on the stiff side of 6:4 - giving accurate casts, whilst the weight of the rod makes you feel like you're casting a soft 5;5 - an incredible achievement in rod design!

    Some people call this Tenkara USA's best "all round" rod and, whilst it is my favourite, I would have to disagree. Heavier lines and flies, or when the breeze gets up, requires my Yamame (which, thanks to the soft tip, can also battle the smaller fighters well).

    I also wouldn't fancy catching an unexpected monster on the Iwana (although a compatriot of mine has landed a 10lb salmon on one - so I probably have to work on my technique!).

    So...if you're new to Tenkara, but know your water and it's fish, and both are typical trout, then go for the Iwana. If you fancy trying your hand at some warm water, coarse or in shore warm water fly fishing, then I would go for the Yamame.

    The Iwana remains my favourite though!

    Or do like me - buy both - and have all bases covered (including the 9'4" handle for the Iwana). The extra reach of the Amago or Ito would be great in some situations, but I like to stalk the fish and the 12' of both the Iwana and Yamame suit me just fine.
  • posted May 24, 2012
  • SamEureka says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Eleven inch Brook trout on my third cast!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Blue Ridge mountain streams in Virginia
  • Amazing quality, superb action, and it catches fish! Lots of fish!! I've caught everything from an 18" Chain Pickerel to a 22" Rainbow with this rod and it just performs perfectly! This is my first Tenkara rod and my only point of reference. I do recommend it for small mountain streams and small warm water creeks. Enjoy it!
  • posted May 11, 2012

page 1 of 5« previous pagenext page »