Sign In | Sign Up

Easy Ordering

  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
IWANA™
12ft (360cm)
Includes CASE
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

$170.00

TENKARA CARE™
Our Guarantee

Should your tenkara rod break, or if you have any problems, please contact us and we'll take care of you!

888.483.6527

info@tenkarausa.com

We want your rod to be back in working order as quickly as possible so you can continue spreading the word about tenkara and Tenkara USA.
Most of the time you will not have to mail anything back to us. Learn more about our guarantee
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

These rods have a beautiful "glossy carbon" finish, where you can see the high-quality carbon fiber material through a nice glossy finish.

12ft (360cm) rod specs
NOTE: Due to the telescopic nature of the rods, and the fact that we rounded the numbers to have a clean metric-to-English conversion, rod lengths may vary slightly from indicated.
Closed size: 20 1/2 inches (52cm) including 1/2" cap
Segments: 9
Handle length: 11 inches (23cm)
Weight:2.7oz (76.5grams)

Made in China with Japanese materials

 1% of the sale value of this item will be donated to conservation efforts.
Write a review of this product.

Reviews

page 3 of 5« previous pagenext page »

sort by: date (most recent first) rating (low ratings first)

  • Zig says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Excellent choice for a beginner
  • Location/type of places I fish: NY creeks and ponds.
  • This rod is just what I was looking for. The length is manageable in the tight creeks that I fish locally, but still long enough for open areas. It takes trout and bluegill with authority, but is still up to the challenge of a big large-mouth bass. It is my go to rod for fishing while backpacking where you never quite know what you'll encounter as far as conditions and fish. Are other rods better for specific tasks? Sure, but the 12ft Iwana can do it all. It is the jack of all trades tenkara rod.
  • posted May 03, 2012
  • heurich says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Iwana 12foot
  • Location/type of places I fish: Appalachian free stone streams
  • My recent introduction to Tenkara has ignited with the first TenkaraUSA rod I purchased, the twelve foot Iwana.

    It is a most adept tool on the freestone streams where I have fished with it - with both furled and level lines. Soft hackle flies are a joy to use with the Iwana.

    It is a "gateway drug", in the best possible sense, of a way to at once become more connected with the environment to which it is best suited, by simplifying the experience and simultaneously expanding the possibilities for exploring and going ever deeper into the contemplative art of fly fishing.
  • posted May 04, 2012
  • cmaltby says     5 out of 5 flies
  • New favorite
  • Location/type of places I fish: Mountsin streams
  • Light, very sensitive, easy to cast, what more could you want in a rod? Breaks down smaller than my 4 piece 9' rods to fit into a backpack or the bag on my 4 wheeler. Casts both sizes of the level line well. If only the spring runoff would end so I could use it!
  • posted May 04, 2012
  • jd_smith says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Iwana go fish
  • Location/type of places I fish: Northern and Central California, Southern Oregon, Sierra Nevada, or where ever I end up next to water.
  • I think the 12' Iwana is the most versatile of all TenkaraUSA rods. The 12' Iwana is very light, extremely well balanced and deceptively powerful. It is the first TenkaraUSA rod that I purchased and is still by far my favorite. It will cast Level and Traditional lines equally well, and handles moderate wind better than most of the other rods on the market. It's 12' length is perfect for an all rounder rod.

    I've landed more fish with this rod and in more locations than any of my other tenkara rods (I have 13 total). This rod has handled everything that I've thrown it's way, and then some. It's brought several fish up to 20" to hand and I'm confident it would handle bigger. I giving this rod 5 flies. They don't come any better than this rod. If it were a Japanese sword, it would be of Honjo Masamune.
  • posted May 05, 2012
  • Treeo says     5 out of 5 flies
  • The one rod (so far)
  • Location/type of places I fish: Skeena River Watershed
  • I have had the Iwana for just over a year now. I have fished a number of little and big streams throughout the Northwest BC. I love the rod for its portability, the ease in which I learned how to cast it, and how well it works for fishing in bush choked fast streams. I am by no means an expert flyfisher, either western or tenkara but as a beginner I can attest to how easy it was to get the basics and how this rod allowed me to feel when I had a fish on. The other great thing about the rod was that it was easy to order, with no customs charges, and shipped quickly. My first tenkara rod will not be my last but if you only needed one rod I could not recommend this one highly enough, particularly for those new to the sport of fishing.
  • posted May 06, 2012
  • apluda says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Great versatile rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Wyoming
  • This was my first Tenkara rod which I purchased as a good all around rod that is very versatile -- and it has not proven me wrong. I love the 6:4 flex with a tapered leaded, it just lands dry flies with sniper accuracy.
  • posted May 06, 2012
  • Daniel Neiswender says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Great Rod!!!!!
  • Location/type of places I fish: colorado foot hills, high mountain
  • I love this rod, concept and the people in Tenkara. this is the only Rod i have been able to get so far but after only a few times out with it I am Hooked.
    I can pick off the smallest of trout out of a stram and fell some very light strikes. as well as going after Bass and pan fish with out a problem. dont even need to change the fly pattern. the quality is great! Thank you Tenkara USA for a great rod!
  • posted May 06, 2012
  • opusxm says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Love it!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Tule River
  • I have been a fly fisherman for 40 years. I learned years ago as a "Western Fly" fisherman, if I kept my floating line off the water, I caught more fish. Then I discovered Tenkara.

    I received my Iwana this week, and have been practicing. Took me a few minutes, to figure it out and get my fly and line laying down, but once I got the timing down, it was heaven. I can't get over how easy it is to keep the main line off the water.

    Rod set up and break down is so easy. I can't wait to get this up on the Tule and Kaweah rivers, once they get the roads open...
  • posted May 07, 2012
  • bigfish says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Are pan fish impure in Tenkara ?
  • Location/type of places I fish: Northern Minnesota small lakes and brushy streams
  • Last summer, while in Grand Marais, Minnesota, my wife showed me the Tenkara display at Stone Harbor Wilderness Outfitters. Because my head was elsewhere and preoccupied, I only gave it a passing glance (but she knows me too well). So six months later and I am back on the North Shore of Lake Superior, and I stop into Stone Harbor to look at all things Tenkara. I purchased a 12' Iwana and a traditional 10.5 ft line. I have not had opportunity to fish trout with it yet, but used the outfit for the first time while stalking pan fish from my kayak. I was able to make a very stealthy presentation to these prespawn spooky fish. The Iwana handled both the bull bluegills and 12" crappies as well or better than my 4 wieght fly rod. I'm hooked. There's a lot of potential here. Thanks honey !
  • posted May 08, 2012
  • kkortemeier says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Amazing, more than I expected
  • Location/type of places I fish: North Ga., Trout, Bass, Bream
  • This is my first Tenkara rod. I have fly fished for many years. I owned a fly fishing store. I have guided in Alaska and the Bahamas. I also taught fly fishing classes at UGA. I say this to let folks know that I have handled a lot of rods. For the price, the quality, the presentation, these rods cannot be beat. I have only been able to fish 3 times with the rod, but it is a joy to cast. My wife is not a flyfisher, but she picked it up within minutues. You can't go wrong with this rod.
  • posted May 08, 2012

page 3 of 5« previous pagenext page »