Sign In | Sign Up

Easy Ordering

  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
  • IWANA™ <br>12ft (360cm)<br> Includes CASE
IWANA™
12ft (360cm)
Includes CASE
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

$170.00

TENKARA CARE™
Our Guarantee

Should your tenkara rod break, or if you have any problems, please contact us and we'll take care of you!

888.483.6527

info@tenkarausa.com

We want your rod to be back in working order as quickly as possible so you can continue spreading the word about tenkara and Tenkara USA.
Most of the time you will not have to mail anything back to us. Learn more about our guarantee
The Iwana has become our classic all-around rod at a great value. It feels very light-weight and precise. The progressive taper, ultra-light weight, and tip action provides for great battles, even when hooking the smaller fish. Quality and strength are by no means compromised, and landing large fish is not unheard of (8lbs mentioned on a forum thread!). If you are going to streams where 12 inch trout are trophies this is the rod.

These rods have a beautiful "glossy carbon" finish, where you can see the high-quality carbon fiber material through a nice glossy finish.

12ft (360cm) rod specs
NOTE: Due to the telescopic nature of the rods, and the fact that we rounded the numbers to have a clean metric-to-English conversion, rod lengths may vary slightly from indicated.
Closed size: 20 1/2 inches (52cm) including 1/2" cap
Segments: 9
Handle length: 11 inches (23cm)
Weight:2.7oz (76.5grams)

Made in China with Japanese materials

 1% of the sale value of this item will be donated to conservation efforts.
Write a review of this product.

Reviews

page 2 of 5« previous pagenext page »

sort by: date (most recent first) rating (high ratings first)

  • JasonSparks says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Fantastic in Appalachia
  • Location/type of places I fish: High Country North Carolina to the Great Smoky Mountains
  • Headwaters on Grandfather Mountain. Stocked waters in open gorges. Delayed harvest areas of our great mountain streams. I have landed 6" wild brookies to 22" rainbows. I'd landed 100+ fish typically ranging in the 10" - 14". I have brought in three dozen fish at 20", both rainbows and browns. I have never lost a fish due to the rod or line. Amazingly Capable. Amazing. I just got the short handle for it and can't wait to get back out on the headwater to chase my wild ones.
  • posted February 21, 2013
  • 4wt says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Its got me hooked!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Ithaca, NY/small creeks
  • I must say that for the first time in many years, this is a product that comes exactly as advertised. The rod is a beautiful black and dark brown color, great for sneaking up on the fish. I set mine up with the #3.5 yellow level line sold on this site. I ran ~9' of level line and 4' of 5x tippet. Use the suggested slip knots and you will be happy with the simplicity of this style of rod vs. a traditional fly rod/reel setup. The blue plastic Tenkara line holder is a must for $9.95. I have caught one 15" rainbow trout on this rod my first time out and loved the fight. This rod allows you to really stay in tune with exactly what the fly is doing. I plan on trying this rod on small steelhead in the coming weeks in western ,NY. The customer service at Tenkara USA is unmatched and they truly will replace any sections quickly and have you back on the stream by the weekend!
  • posted February 23, 2013
  • JDReed says     5 out of 5 flies
  • I'm a convert
  • Location/type of places I fish: Northern Utah Mountains
  • My buddy recently let me use his 12ft Iwana and I gotta say, I'm hooked on Tenkara. This rod and this style of fishing is perfect for 90% of the streams that I fish. I'm able to cast into places successfully that I would never have even attempted with my western rod. This rod is light enough to cast all day in comfort, and being able to telescope it down when you're walking through heavily wooded areas is really really nice (I broke the tip off of my western rod doing this once). The Iwana is soft enough allow small fish to feel big, but it seems to have a back bone when you need it as I landed a 15 inch cutthroat and my buddy landed a 17 inch brown on it.

    I really can't say enough good things about it. I'd recommend this rod to any of my friends. If you routinely fish smaller technical creeks and rivers you need to get this rod.

    Tight lines,

    Jason Reed
    Logan Utah
  • posted April 14, 2013
  • jumsted says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Outstanding
  • Location/type of places I fish: Nor cal/Sierra /Nevada
  • This is my first and only Tenkara rod. After several years dabbling in fly fishing without much success with wet flies, and no luck at all with dry flies, I experienced immediate success with this setup, and catch something more often than not.
  • posted April 18, 2012
  • Thomis says     5 out of 5 flies
  • A GREAT rod for western fly fishers to cross over
  • Location/type of places I fish: Easern Wisconsin- Small Inland Trout Streams
  • I have both the 11' 6:4 Iwana and the 12' Iwana, and I use the 12' more. I think the 1' foot difference gives me more of an edge for both casting length and landing fish.
    I use to fish a 9 foot 4 weight western rod, and the 12' Iwana has kept that rod put away and collecting dust.
  • posted April 18, 2012
  • flyfishingprof says     5 out of 5 flies
  • Excellent Rod all Around
  • Location/type of places I fish: Tight Mountian Streams, low valley streams, lakes
  • I purchased this rod initially for it's portability and discovered upon it's use what a great, beautiful piece of technology it is. My first trip with my Iwana rod was to a small mountain stream with large Rhododendron overhanging the water. When casting I'd extend the rod to it's full length and easily pin-point cast to various spots. When moving to the next location I'd quickly collapse the telescoping portion and climb through the bramble. A perfect purchase.
  • posted April 18, 2012
  • pechelman says     5 out of 5 flies
  • I wanna Iwana!
  • Location/type of places I fish: rivers and streams
  • sorry for the lame joke :)

    But if you could have only ONE tenkara rod, I think the Iwana is it, and specifically, the 12'er.

    If you're a western fly fisher looking at a Tenkara rod, do yourself a favor and get the longer length. Even on small streams, I'm happy I have the extra reach and length to keep the line off the water.

    The iwana has such a great crisp casting stroke. While the rod is definitely a 6:4, it feels faster and stiffer to me than I was expecting. By no means is it a "fast" rod though for you western fly fishers.

    I've used this rod from a #3 8' line all the way up to an 18' #4 line and the 10/13' furled lines from tenkara usa. It handles everything and is just so versatile. I've caught trout on it from barely the size of my hand to about ~14" and its really a joy. Has a surprisingly stout butt end with a wonderfully delicate tip to protect light tippets. Let the rod tip do the work for you and gently steer the fish with the butt of the rod where you want him to look\go\swim.

    Finishing on the rod is of very good quality.
    I feel like my Sage rods are definitely of a little higher quality when it comes to inspecting the labeling and finishing of thread wraps, but these are things I honestly dont care about in the long run.

    Its a great rod, at a great price, and it does everything Ive thrown at it very well.

    Add on to that fact, that you can buy a 9'6" handle, which I recommend getting, and you essentially have TWO tenkara rods for a very reasonable price.
  • posted April 26, 2012
  • haphill says     5 out of 5 flies
  • First Tenkara rod and I love it!
  • Location/type of places I fish: Trout fishing and pan fishing
  • Just took my 12' Iwana out for the first time and I couldn't be more pleased! I only had the afternoon to squeeze in and I went to a local pond. Set up was easy (with the help of the videos) and I was on the water in no time. Casting was easy and extremely accurate. I'll need to be a little more careful with what's behind me as I snagged a tree twice. It's a long pole! I caught about a dozen smallies and pan fish before dark. I can't wait to take it to the river!
  • posted September 21, 2015
  • horabe says     5 out of 5 flies
  • An all around rod to introduce a western fly fisher to tenkara fly fishing.
  • Location/type of places I fish: Upstate New York
  • I have been a western fly fisher for over 20 years and I have to say this rod made it easy for me to cross over to tenkara fly fishing. I have used both traditional and level lines with this rod and had no problem fly casting. In some ways it feels like casting a western rod especially when using a tradition line. I feel comfortable casting either a size 18 dry or a size 8 streamer and was able to land a 15" SM with a 5x tippet. Also when you hook on to fish with this rod you may never want to return to using your western fly rod again on a stream.
  • posted April 28, 2012
  • goneflyfishing says     5 out of 5 flies
  • The "do-it-all" tenkara rod
  • Location/type of places I fish: Creeks and smaller rivers, ponds
  • The 12ft Iwana was my first tenkara rod that "sold" me to this tenkara fishing. Well balanced, light and versatile is what comes first to mind. This is my go-to rod for most water for which I don't need a specialized rod like the Amago for bigger water/fish or the Ito for increased reach.
  • posted April 28, 2012

page 2 of 5« previous pagenext page »