Sign In | Sign Up to Shop/Forum

Frame joint

A place to discuss tenkara nets. Techniques for making it, woods used, designs, etc.

Frame joint

Postby carlz » Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:38 am

Looking at different picture on the net it looks like some use a wrap over their scarf joint on the net frame, and some do not. I am looking for more detailed instructions on gluing this joint. Ideas on holding the joint until the glue sets up. And more information of the wrap over the joint. What material you use to wrap the joint. Do you wrap after gluing, or glue and let setup and then wrap. How to wrap the joint? Thanks for any help you can give me!!!
carlz

Re: Frame joint

Postby Markpdx » Wed May 22, 2019 9:32 am

Hi Carla,
I am a luthier, and one of the preferred methods among many luthiers throughout history for attaching a headstock to the neck of a guitar is the scarf joint for it's strength. The issue of strength at that point is the change in wood grain direction of a one-piece wood neck without a scarf joint. That leave one with a lot of short wood grain. The benefit of the scarf is in elongating the scarf joint as much as possible to increase its holding strength under the load of string tension.