Sign In | Sign Up to Shop/Forum

Stiffer rods

Discussion on tenkara rods

Stiffer rods

Postby MNtenkara » Tue Sep 04, 2018 8:34 pm

I’m new to fly fishing as well as tenkara, so I’m asking for insight and suggestions about rod stiffness/flex.

I recently purchased the Hane and have read that it is a “stiffer” rod (with more “backbone”) than most Tenkara USA rods (except perhaps the Amago). Since I’m new to tenkara and don’t have anything to compare the “feel” to, I’m not sure what "stiffness" means or how it impacts casting, lines, etc.

I’d love to hear any opinions about “stiffness” of the various rods compared to the Hane as well as any suggestions regarding “stiffer” rod techniques and rigging options, including: line weights, tippet weight/lengths, fly weigths/sizes, casting tweaks, “loading” a stiffer rod, etc.

FYI: I live in Minnesota, so I fish some small streams or quarries with trout as well as lakes with panfish and bass. I know there may be different suggestions depending on the situations—and I’m open to hearing them.
MNtenkara

Re: Stiffer rods

Postby TJ @ Tenkara USA » Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:16 pm

Hi and welcome.

Think of it more as a flex point... a fast casting rod or a tip flex rod, like the Hane (some may call it stiffer), flexes more at the tip of the rod where a mid flex or mid stiffness rod would be a little further down the rod, and the soft or slow casting rod more around the middle or so.

So if a rod had 10 segments as example, a tip flex you will see more of the bend towards the tip, say on the last segments 7, 8, and 9 as we count at Tenkara USA. Soft casting rod more down in the middle, say about the 5th from the handle or tip.

My experience stiffer or tipflex rods like a tad heavier line, especially of you don't have a solid casting stroke. Starts and Stops very solidly are most important when casting a tenkara rod. Therefore a little heavier line like a 4.5 Level Line may cast easier for some as it helps load the rod.