Sign In | Sign Up to Shop/Forum

Fishing tales on Tenkara in Wales, United Kingdom

Fishing tales on Tenkara in Wales, United Kingdom

Postby ConorUK » Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:08 pm

Hello all, I fish a small stream in North Wales called the River Alyn, and am lucky enough that it flows near my workplace and so i can get a few pre-work or lunchtime trips a week on it when i am in the office. It has an average weight of 1/2lb brown trout and 3/4lb grayling, with specimen brown trout in the 2lb-3.5lb range and grayling in 1.5lb+ range. Its an ideal stream for the Tenkara technique, as indeed most UK upland and lowland streams are. We also get a small run of sea-trout and Atlantic salmon but these are rarely caught.

I keep an electronic diary of fishing trips, but as i am still learning Tenkara i thought to share my experiences with Tenkara here, with each fishing visit as a new post in this thread.

Conor

Much of the river is tight fishing in deep pools and fast flowing runs, in either fully or partially wooded, a typical run is in the photo below.

ConorUK

7 July visit to River Alyn

Postby ConorUK » Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:15 pm