Sign In | Sign Up to Shop/Forum

trouble with landing fish. what am i doing wrong?

trouble with landing fish. what am i doing wrong?

Postby the_cascadian » Tue Jun 03, 2014 5:10 pm

so i'm totally new to fly fishing and the world of tenkara and have only been fishing for about two weeks now. i had a lot of luck to start and even landed a beautiful six inch rainbow trout on my second outing! subsequent outings were full of catching and releasing beautiful trout from a mountain creek near my house. this seems to be a case of beginners luck, because now i hook fish left and right but absolutely cannot bring them to hand. i feel the bite, set the hook, tip the rod away from the fish, and just as i'm preparing to land the fish, it de-hooks itself and swims away. what am i doing wrong? is this just the name of the game?

also, a question about knots: as a climber i haven't found the knots too difficult to learn. however, i feel like sometimes i am not tying them super well, as i had a break at the tippet-fly connection today while almost landing a small fish. i typically use a davy or yamamoto knot to connect tippet to fly or for the traditional line to tippet connection, all on 5x tippet. is there something i'm missing with the knots? how important is it to add spittle to the tippet before tightening? can the knot somehow twist and invert while tightening, thus weakening the knot? if i get the fly stuck in a tree and pull on it a few times in an attempt to loosen it, does this weaken the knot over time?

thanks!
the_cascadian

Re: trouble with landing fish. what am i doing wrong?

Postby DavidHE » Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:34 pm

Not sure I can give you much on landing fish. I seem to be losing a large number of fish lately. On the bright side, my flies are tricking the fish, so my tying must be ok and hooking and almost landing fish is much better than watching your line in the water and hooking nothing. Keeping tension on the little guys seems to be key.