****The tenkara forum will now use a separate login from the rest of the site. If you are an existing forum user, you may need to confirm or possibly create a new account. We will have limited support for the forum.****

Fly Tying...Is it worth the "leap"?

Your experiments and findings on tenkara fly-patterns and fly-tying.

Fly Tying...Is it worth the "leap"?

Postby sandtrout » Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:08 am

I'm new to fly fishing and new to the Tenkara style. I was checking out some of the flys at another Tenkara site that were $12 per half dozen....and as a retiree that's kind of pricey. I'm thinking it may be better to consider taking the plunge of buying the equipment and taking the free classes offered by a local Fly Fishing Club but am I looking at it realistically? Thanks for any comments.

Also, if you've learned how to tie flys...do you have the ability to just look at a fly and know how it was tied? Thanks again in advance for any replies.
sandtrout

Re: Fly Tying...Is it worth the "leap"?

Postby adventureR » Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:20 am

sandtrout, this is a cheap hobby tying flies, but one can get carried away. For simple tying it's not bad. But in time with premium tools and supplies it can be expensive. I've stayed relatively cheap, and managed to make alot of flies the fish like. Here's my $45 vise. It was been good enough for all my tying. IMO there's no need to purchase top of the line unless you just like to make yourself feel good with expensive stuff. There's a wide range of products out there, and supplies to suit your needs.

I tied my first few flies by hand, then with a soldering station aligator clip, the flies worked on the fish, and it was great fun. But gear aside tying your own flies is as fun to me as the fishing itself. But combining the two is great and rewarding fun.
¿ <•,^~~<
adventureR

Postby Aaron Proffitt » Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:52 am