Sign In | Sign Up to Shop/Forum

Tenkara, trout, the environment, and Zen

Trip reports, findings, events, and general experiences with tenkara fishing. Tell other tenkara enthusiasts about your tenkara experience

Tenkara, trout, the environment, and Zen

Postby jbenenson » Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:27 pm

So far in this forum the emphasis on Tekara fishing has generally been about the simplicity of the equipment and the portability of the gear for backpacking, etc. I want to offer another type of Tenkara experience.

I have fly fished for over 50 years and own a lot of equipment. In addition, I am a guild-certified custom rod builder. I have built bamboo, fiberglass, and graphite rods of all types and descriptions for a variety of customers and also for myself. I have everything that I need for fly fishing from bonefish to small native cutthroats, and I'm still adding to my collection. My most recent additions have been two Tenkara rods: a Yamame and an Ebisu (as well as the beautiful Tenkara wallet).

Why did I buy these additional rods? Because I want to fly fish in its purest, most elemental form. There is nothing simpler than a Tenkara outfit: the only thing between me and the fish are the basic essentials needed to catch one, and nothing more. Putting my other complex equipment aside, I can go to the stream unimpeded physically and mentally by extraneous (and essentially irrelevant) paraphernalia.

I consider trout to be among the most beautiful and graceful animals that have ever existed and, combined with the scenery and aura of a clear, cold mountain stream, produce an experience in which I am both honored and humbled to be a participant. I become one with the fish and the environment, totally immersed in an unparalleled spiritual gift from our planet. The Tenkara rod and line, because of the intrinsic design philosophy, contribute to being one with the gift in a way that no other fly fishing equipment can.