Sign In | Sign Up to Shop/Forum

Experiment in making a tenkara net, journal

A place to discuss tenkara nets. Techniques for making it, woods used, designs, etc.

Experiment in making a tenkara net, journal

Postby Daniel @ Tenkara USA » Sat Jun 26, 2010 8:18 pm

For several weeks now I have been looking up at every tree, here and in Japan, that may offer the possibility of a good branch for making a tenkara net. I have not seen many at all until a couple of days ago. And so the experiment begins.

I have little experience working with wood, mostly limited to a couple of small carpentry projects. So, here I'm describing the experience as a complete novice in this area, with no experience making nets or working with raw wood, and based on information about woodworking and net making found on the web. I also do not have a wood shop and have few tools to work with. So, this will be a SIMPLE project. Suggestions for woodworking are welcome, but I'd appreciate we don't get into discussions on whether it's right to cut a wood branch or not.

I have been doing a lot of research on the appropriate woods I could use (those with good durability, good steam-bending properties, availability, branch shapes, etc.), and mostly using the resources on the "good links" post.
Daniel @ Tenkara USA
Site Admin

Found a tree, Jeffrey Pine, and branches (06/24)

Postby Daniel @ Tenkara USA » Sat Jun 26, 2010 8:28 pm

At the very end of the day, on my drive back to San Francisco from Shasta, I stopped to checkout a stream. It turned out the stream was too high, but on my hike back to the car I found a tree that seemed to present good possibilities. The branches seemed appropriate for a net, so i started looking around.

Now I learned, with a certain degree of confidence (but not yet 100%) the tree is a Jeffrey Pine (pinus jeffreyi)